New Children's Easy Readers July 2020 Part 3

Here are more Easy Reader books for you to check out! We hope you enjoy!

"Flubby: Flubby is NOT a Good Pet!" by J. E. Morris


Meet Flubby the lovably lazy feline who prefers a purr-fectly laid-back lifestyle!


Flubby is a big, sleepy cat who refuses to do the things that other pets do. He won't sing, catch, or even jump! But when a scary situation brings Flubby and his owner together, they realize they really do need each other and that makes Flubby a good pet after all. A Geisel Honor Book!


"Dear Beast" by Dori Hillestad Butler


A jealous cat really, really, REALLY wants to drive away his young owner's new dog in this playful illustrated chapter book from a two-time Geisel Honor winner.


Simon has taken care of his owner, Andy, for many years. He's a good cat. Clean, responsible, and loyal. What more could a boy want? Even when Andy's dad moves out, Simon is certain that Andy doesn't need another pet. So why would Andy's dad adopt a DOG?! To make matters worse, the animal is a rude, rowdy troublemaker.


Simon's job is clear: the beast has got to go. He decides to write him a letter. Strongly worded, of course. But when the dog's response sets off an unexpected correspondence, Simon realizes the beast may be here to stay. Can he make room for another pet in Andy's life?


This funny and heartwarming collaboration between Geisel Honor and Edgar Award-winning author Dori Hillestad Butler and bestselling illustrator Kevan Atteberry is a tribute to the love of a good pet and the joy found in new friendship. With nine chapters and adorable full-color illustrations on every spread, the series is perfect for kids transitioning from picture books to chapter books.


"Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star" by Jane Cabrera


A favorite lullaby becomes a celebration of love in this lushly illustrated version featuring animals from all over the world.


"You Are Home With Me" by Sarah Asper-Smith


From the author and illustrator of the popular I Would Tuck You In, this endearing picture book introduces young children to the homes of a variety of animals.


Explore the many ways that animals create a habitat for their young in this charming picture book, filled with baby animals and their parents.


A polar bear carves out a den in a snowbank to keep its cub warm. A tufted puffin digs out a burrow to shelter its young on a cliff near the sea. A lynx makes a shelter under a fallen tree to snuggle with its kitten. Young children will learn all about these animals and more, as each spread also includes a short piece of nonfiction about each creature.


Lovingly illustrated and lyrically written, this is the second children's book written and illustrated by the husband-and-wife artist and author team Mitchell Watley and Sarah Asper-Smith.

"My Papi Has a Motorcycle" by Isabel Guintero


When Daisy Ramona zooms around her neighborhood with her papi on his motorcycle, she sees the people and places she's always known. She also sees a community that is rapidly changing around her.


But as the sun sets purple-blue-gold behind Daisy Ramona and her papi, she knows that the love she feels will always be there. A Belpré Illustrator Honor Book!


"Fry Bread: A Native American Family Story" by Kevin Noble Maillard


Fry bread is food.

It is warm and delicious, piled high on a plate.


Fry bread is time.

It brings families together for meals and new memories.


Fry bread is nation.

It is shared by many, from coast to coast and beyond.


Fry bread is us.

It is a celebration of old and new, traditional and modern, similarity and difference.


Winner of the Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children and an American Indian Youth Literature Picture Book Honor.


"Birdsong" by Julie Flett


When a young girl moves from the country to a small town, she feels lonely and out of place. But soon she meets an elderly woman next door, who shares her love of arts and crafts. Can the girl navigate the changing seasons and failing health of her new friend? Winner of an American Indian Youth Literature Picture Book Honor!


"Please Don't Eat Me" by Liz Climo


Beloved author-illustrator Liz Climo is back with a hilarious take on (reluctant) friendship that will appeal to fans of We Don't Eat Our Classmates and I Want My Hat Back!


When a carefree bunny is approached by a voracious bear in the woods, Bunny has just one request: "Please don't eat me."


But the bear has a never-ending list of requests, and Bunny realizes maybe Bear isn't as hungry as he'd let on...maybe he just wants his new friend's company for a while.


This witty and poignant exploration of predator and prey will have children and parents alike roaring with laughter and looking for their next meal.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All