New Easy Reader and Juvenile Books July 2020

Updated: Aug 14, 2020

Check out our new children's books!


Easy Readers!

"Dream a Rainbow" by Carlotta Penn


Dream A Rainbow teaches children the colors of the rainbow and inspires them to believe in their dreams. On a stormy morning, Hana sees a rainbow and dreams of where it might take her. She slides into a fantastical adventure to Ethiopia, where she plays with friends and beautiful animals. When she returns home to bed, she is sure — dreams really do come true!


"The Turtle with an Afro" by Carlotta Penn


This fun, beautifully illustrated story of a Turtle who loves her Afro is for all who know that curly Afros are beautiful! The Turtle with an Afro is frustrated because her springy head of curls will not stay in place. But Turtle soon sees the light, and learns that her curls are DYNAMITE! Children will love to read along with this celebration of curly, kinky, coily hair in all its forms, and learn a lesson on self-love and acceptance along the way! The Turtle with an Afro features an anthropomorphic character with an African-American likeness, which includes thick, curly hair. However, Turtle's struggle with styling her hair is an experience that girls and women are likely to identify with, regardless of cultural background. The plot centers on her emotional journey from frustration to excitement as she styles her "fantastic, frolicking, feisty" hair. This poetic, alliterative children's book makes for an engaging read aloud with young kids at home and at school. Its playful tone and fast pace hold the attention and delight of readers. Ultimately, this is a story of self-love that acknowledges how we as humans grapple with our bodies, our image, and our desire to present our best selves to the world. Children will leave this story with confidence in the mantra: Rock your crown!


"Love from the Crayons" by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers


Ring in Valentine's Day and love with the New York Times Best-Selling Crayons! This charming new title featuring everyone's favorite coloring crew is the perfect gift for that special someone on Valentine's Day or any day of the year.


Love is yellow and orange. Because love is sunny and warm.

Love is purple. Because it's okay to love outside the lines.


This special gift book, featuring all the The Crayons from The Day the Crayons Quit, explores the bright colors and subtle shades of love. This is a must-have for fans of The Crayons, and the perfect gift for that special someone.


Juvenile Nonfiction!

"Meet the Quokkas!" by Caryn Jenner


Does your child love quirky, furry creatures? This children's book about the beloved Australian quokka will be perfect for them.


Children will be fascinated to find out why this friendly creature is described as one of the happiest animals on the planet, and that the bouncy quokka is actually related to kangaroos and wallabies. Fascinating facts are paired with adorable photographs of quokkas, providing an ideal balance of words and images for children learning to read.


Meet the Quokkas! is a new Level 2 title in the engaging four-level DK Readers series, aimed at children who are beginning to read. Helping to develop a lifelong love of reading, DK Readers cover a vast range of fascinating subjects to support children as they become confident readers.


"Who Was Winston Churchill?" by Ellen Labreque


Born into aristocracy, Churchill cut his teeth as a young army officer in British India, the Sudan, and the Second Boer War. He rose in the ranks to First Lord of the Admiralty and was a staunch opponent of the encroaching German Nazis. Churchill served as Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1940 to 1945 and again from 1951 to 1955. Widely regarded as one of the greatest wartime leaders of the 20th century, Churchill was also a historian, a writer, and an artist. He is the only British Prime Minister to have won the Nobel Prize in Literature, and was the first person to be made an honorary citizen of the United States.


Juvenile Fiction!

"Sweeping up the Heart" by Kevin Henkes


From two-time Newbery Honor and New York Times–bestselling author Kevin Henkes, this timeless novel about loss, loneliness, and friendship tells the story of the spring break that changes seventh-grader Amelia Albright’s life forever.


Amelia Albright dreams about going to Florida for spring break like everyone else in her class, but her father — a cranky and conservative English professor — has decided Florida is too much adventure. Now Amelia is stuck at home with him and her babysitter, the beloved Mrs. O’Brien. The week ahead promises to be boring, until Amelia meets Casey at her local art studio. Amelia has never been friends with a boy before, and the experience is both fraught and thrilling. When Casey claims to see the spirit of Amelia’s mother (who died ten years before), the pair embark on an altogether different journey in their attempt to find her.


With crisp, lyrical, literary writing and moments of humor and truth, award-winning author Kevin Henkes deftly captures how it feels to be almost thirteen and lonely. With themes of family, death, grief, creativity, and loyalty, Sweeping Up the Heart has all the hallmarks of a classic Kevin Henkes novel. A timeless novel for readers of Kate DiCamillo, Rebecca Stead, Lauren Wolk, Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, and Pam Muñoz Ryan.


"The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise" by Dan Gemeinhart


Five years. That's how long Coyote and her dad, Rodeo, have lived on the road in an old school bus, crisscrossing the nation. It's also how long ago Coyote lost her mom and two sisters in a car crash.


Coyote hasn’t been home in all that time, but when she learns the park in her old neighborhood is being demolished — the very same park where she, her mom, and her sisters buried a treasured memory box — she devises an elaborate plan to get her dad to drive 3,600 miles back to Washington state in four days... without him realizing it.


Along the way, they'll pick up a strange crew of misfit travelers. Lester has a lady love to meet. Salvador and his mom are looking to start over. Val needs a safe place to be herself. And then there's Gladys....


Over the course of thousands of miles, Coyote will learn that going home can sometimes be the hardest journey of all... but that with friends by her side, she just might be able to turn her “once upon a time” into a “happily ever after”.


"Betty Before X" by Ilyasah Shabazz with Renée Watson


A powerful middle-grade novel about the childhood activism of Betty Shabazz, Malcolm X’s wife, written by their daughter.


In Detroit, 1945, eleven-year-old Betty’s house doesn’t quite feel like home. She believes her mother loves her, but she can’t shake the feeling that her mother doesn’t want her. Church helps those worries fade, if only for a little while. The singing, the preaching, the speeches from guest activists like Paul Robeson and Thurgood Marshall stir African Americans in her community to stand up for their rights. Betty quickly finds confidence and purpose in volunteering for the Housewives League, an organization that supports black-owned businesses. Soon, the American civil rights icon we now know as Dr. Betty Shabazz is born.


Collaborating with novelist Renée Watson, Ilyasah Shabazz illuminates four poignant years in her mother’s childhood, painting a beautiful and inspiring portrait of a girl overcoming the challenges of self-acceptance and belonging that will resonate with young readers today.


"The Boxcar Children: The Skeleton Key Mystery" by Gertrude Chandler Warner


The Aldens are visiting a small town known for its fall festival, and while Grandfather is off taking in the fall colors, the children try out the town's newest attraction — a Halloween escape room! The Aldens love solving the puzzles to get out of the room, and they don't mind the spooky theme. The problem is, someone — or something — is making things downright scary for other customers!


3 views0 comments

(419) 826-2760

©2020 by SPL Children's Department. Proudly created with Wix.com